YourDefenseAttorneyLA | Services
Assault & Battery
Assault & Battery Criminal Defense Attorney in Los Angeles
At YourDefenseAttorneyLA we have the best criminal defense attorneys in Los Angeles, with over 40 years of experience and more than 1000 cases won in their background. We offer top notch service to the entire Latino community. We can speak in Spanish for the convenience of our clients.
Do not hesitate to ask all your questions through the phone number, since we offer a free consultation, do not hesitate to contact our team of professionals who will advise you and take care of fighting for your rights as a citizen.
To learn more about the laws related to Assault & Battery in the state of California, we advise you to keep reading, our goal is to clear all your doubts, but keep in mind that the information offered here should not be used as a substitute for a qualified and experienced attorney in criminal cases to defend you.
Criminal Defense Attorney in Los Angeles
“An assault is an unlawful attempt, coupled with the present ability, to commit violent injury upon the person of another.
A battery is any willful and unlawful use of force or violence upon the person of another.”
California Statutes – Penal Code 240 & 242
What is Assault?
Under California law, assault is any action that violates the physical and mental integrity of an individual. Thus, threatening with words, using force, or intimidating another person is considered an assault and therefore a crime. Each case is special, as it cannot be otherwise, and several factors are taken into account to determine the guilt of the accused.
What is Aggression?
Battery is closely related to the crime of Assault since in most cases one action leads to the other, although they do not always go hand in hand, i.e., Assault can occur without reaching Battery. Simply put, Battery is when harm is committed to the victim by means of physical contact which can result in serious injury. It is important to have a Criminal Defense Attorney who knows how to prove your innocence.
What is the penalty for Assault and Battery in California?
They are usually charged as misdemeanors, unless there are factors that require a more severe punishment (such as aggravated assault). They may spend up to 6 months in prison, or be assigned community service work, as well as pay fines of up to one thousand dollars ($1000) in the case of assault and two thousand dollars ($2000) in the case of battery.
Our criminal defense attorneys will listen to you and attend to your case.